Trader Joe’s Journal: General Tsao Wings

Recipes

So if your following me on Instagram, then you may have seen my many posts about my weekly splurges at Trader Joe’s. First off, I must have been living under a rock to NEVER have shopped at Trader Joe’s up until a few months ago. Now, I am beyond thrilled to take trips to my local Trader Joe’s and grab my favorite arrangement of flowers while shopping. Seriously, this place has to be the second closest thing to heaven. While browsing the aisles, I love to pick up a few new sauces and seasoning to try out! On this particular trip, I came across some chicken wings and General Tsao stir fry sauce on sale. Weeks later, on a relaxing Sunday when I had no desire to make a Trader Joe’s trip… I dug around my freezer and that’s how my General Tsao chicken wings were created. Luckily, I had a bag of Trader Joe’s vegetable fried rice and french string beans in the freezer ready to go along with this dish. This is the perfect combination for an easy meal that you can whip up while cleaning up around the house.

FullSizeRender 6
FullSizeRender 5 FullSizeRender 4

Prep Time: 5 minutes Cooking Time: 1:20 minutes Serving Size: 3-4

Ingredients: 

  • 12-15 Chicken wings
  • 1 bottle of Trader Joe’s General Tsao Stir Fry Sauce
  • 1/2 cup sesame oil
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon minced ginger
  • 2 teaspoons crushed red pepper
  • 3 tablespoons butter

Other Ingredients:

  • Trader Joe’s French String Beans
  • Trader Joe’s Vegetable Fried Rice

FullSizeRender 3

Begin by combining the sesame oil, soy sauce, minced ginger, and crushed red pepper in a large mixing bowl and pre heat your over to 375 degrees. Add chicken to the bowl and toss until fully coated with the sesame oil mixture. Transfer the chicken to a deep baking dish, place butter throughout baking dish and cover with foil. Place on the lower rack in the oven and set timer for 20 minutes.

FullSizeRender 2

After the first 20 minutes, take chicken out of the oven and drain excess juices. Replace the chicken back in the oven without the foil, turn the temperature up to 425 degrees and set timer for another 20 minutes. Once the timer goes off again, remove chicken from the oven, flip, and drizzle about 1/4 of the Trader Joe’s General Tsao sauce over the chicken and place back in the oven. I basically continue this process until the chicken is a nice brown crunchy texture. Just be sure to save at least half of the General Tsao sauce to put on the chicken once it’s done and throw in the oven on broil for about 3 minutes.

FullSizeRender

I usually whip up the Trader Joe’s vegetable fried rice with some hot sesame oil and a splash of soy sauce. You can’t forget about the string beans which are super easy and obviously my favorite side dish. Melt some butter in a medium skillet and add some fresh chopped garlic. Toss in the string beans(they can be frozen),add a little garlic salt and fresh ground black pepper and cook for about 5-7 minutes. Yep, it’s that simple! A quick Asian themed dinner for the family without too much of the work, courtesy of Trader Joe’s.

image1

Leave a comment